Spain crowned Algarve Cup champions

This year’s International Women’s Day (March 8) was particularly special for Spain as its women’s football team lifted the Algarve Cup for the first time after beating Canada in the final held at Estádio do Algarve.

Defender Leila Ouahabi scored the game-winning goal just four minutes in, making Spain the 7th country to win the cup.

As in previous years Portugal had a poor run and was unable to avoid finishing last.

The USA – which did not take part this year – remains the country with most Algarve Cup titles (10), followed by Norway (4) and Sweden and Germany (3 each).

The final standings this year are:
1. Spain
2. Canada
3. Denmark
4. Australia
5. Netherlands
6. Japan
7. Sweden
8. Russia
9. Iceland
10. China
11. Norway
12. Portugal

[email protected]