Sebastien Ogier nails fourth Portuguese WRC title

Sebastien Ogier has done it again. The French Volkswagen driver has claimed his fourth Rally de Portugal title in five years after winning in 2013, 2011 and 2010.
The Frenchman won in a Volkswagen Polo R 43.2 seconds ahead of Hirvonen, who was driving a Ford Fiesta RS. Mads Ostberg finished third in a Citroen DS3, a further 29.2sec behind.
Said Ogier on the offical WRC website: “Portugal is a place I love to drive and now I have four wins from five starts in a World Rally Car here.”
The Volkswagen driver finished ahead of top-rivals Mikko Hirvonen (Finland/M-Sport World Rally Team) and Mads Ostberg (Norway/Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT), with the Finnish rival showing some especially fierce opposition throughout the four days of racing.
“It wasn’t an easy one and Mikko pushed really hard, but in the end, it was another win and a maximum of bonus points with the Power Stage [win] too. Perfect!” Ogier said.
With his win at the Vodafone Rally de Portugal, Ogier now has a 29-point lead over Jari-Matti Latvala – who gave up all hope of a win when he went off the road on Friday – in the overall ranking and seems well on his way to become 2014’s WRC champion.
However, organisers reveal this may have been the last Rally de Portugal to take place in the Algarve. Pedro Almeida, the rally director and member of Portugal’s Automobile Club, said last month that the rally may be moved to the north of the country.
“We have been studying this possibility, but nothing is decided yet… We will be announcing our decision in the coming months”.