Portuguese duo win Rally de Portugal.jpg

Portuguese duo win Rally de Portugal

PORTUGUESE NATIONAL champions, Armindo Araújo and Miguel Ramalho were successful in winning the Rally de Portugal last Saturday, an international rally sponsored by Portugal Telecom that took place over three days (March 16 to 18) in the Alentejo and Algarve.

Araújo, driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8, finished with an advantage of one minute and 17 seconds over former Skoda driver, Finn Janne Tuohino, driving a Subaru Impreza WRX and assisted by Mikko Markkulaa. The third man on the winner’s podium was Swedish rising star, Patrik Flodin (Subaru Impreza WRX), assisted by Maria Anderson. Last year’s winner, Sweden’s Daniel Carlsson, came fourth and was assisted by Jonas Andersson.

The event, a candidate for future inclusion in the FIA World Rally Championship, ran flawlessly despite atrocious weather in the region, with heavy rain falling almost continuously throughout the three days.

The winners’ ceremony took place at the Algarve Stadium and, despite the rain and strong winds, attracted around 1,000 spectators.