Portugal to replace Russia at UEFA Women’s Euro 2022
Photo: Federação Portuguesa de Futebol

Portugal to replace Russia at UEFA Women’s Euro 2022

UEFA clamps down on Russia following Ukraine invasion

Portugal will fill the vacant spot left by Russia at the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 which will begin on July 6 in England, the governing body of European football UEFA announced on Tuesday.

The decision is part of a larger package of measures announced by UEFA as a response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

UEFA has also confirmed there will be no Russian sides competing in European club competitions next season and has also rejected Russia’s interest in hosting the men’s Euro in 2028 or 2032.

Portugal was selected as Russia’s replacement after having lost to the Russian side in the qualifying playoffs. The national women’s football team will join Netherlands, Sweden and Switzerland in Group C.

The European governing body also said it is acting to ensure its tournaments are staged smoothly “in a safe and secure environment for all”.

The UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 will comprise of 31 matches, with hosts England being joined by 15 other nations in a bid to lift the trophy at Wembley Stadium on July 31.

The other nations are: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

By Michael Bruxo
[email protected]