Fifa World Cup trophy

Portugal to host World Cup 2030 with five other countries!

Portugal to host World Cup matches for the first time

Portugal will to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup alongside Morocco, Spain, Paraguay, Uruguay and Argentina.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino has officially confirmed the news.

“In a divided world, FIFA and football are uniting. The FIFA Council, representing the entire world of football, unanimously agreed to celebrate the centenary of the FIFA World Cup, whose first edition was played in Uruguay in 1930, in the most appropriate way. As a result, a celebration will take place in South America and three South American countries – Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay – will organise one match each of the FIFA World Cup 2030. The first of these three matches will of course be played at the stadium where it all began, in Montevideo’s mythical Estádio Centenário, precisely to celebrate the centenary edition of the FIFA World Cup,” he said on a statement on FIFA’s website.

“The FIFA Council also agreed unanimously that the only bid to host the FIFA World Cup 2030 will be the joint bid of Morocco, Portugal and Spain,” the FIFA President added. “Two continents – Africa and Europe – united not only in a celebration of football but also in providing unique social and cultural cohesion. What a great message of peace, tolerance and inclusion. “In 2030, we will have a unique global footprint, three continents – Africa, Europe and South America – six countries – Argentina, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain and Uruguay – welcoming and uniting the world while celebrating together the beautiful game, the centenary and the FIFA World Cup,”  Infantino said.

This will be the first time that the World Cup is held in three different continents.

It will also be the second time that Portugal hosts a major international football competition, following the Euro 2004 – which the national team failed to win after a heartbreaking 1-0 loss against Greece at Estádio da Luz in Lisbon.

Updated at 4.39pm with FIFA’s official statement.

By Michael Bruxo

[email protected]