Olhanense SAD President Luis Torres (white shirt, centre) with fans

Olhanense fans take to the streets

Several hundred SC Olhanense fans made their presence known in Olhão town centre on Saturday morning when they demonstrated against the Portuguese Football Federation’s (FPF) arbitrary decision to promote Vizela and Arouca to the Segunda Liga.

Starting from the José Arcanjo Stadium, the cavalcade of motorcycles and cars plus the club bus wound its way along the EN125 and Avenida da República before creating a carnival atmosphere in the market waterfront area with a cacophony of blaring horns and lively music.

Everywhere there were banners proclaiming “Queremos Justiça” (We Want Justice). SC Olhanense SAD President Luís Torres stated that the FPF decision does not have legal standing, nor is it even based on the sports regulations of the federation. He added: “If the appeal is rejected, we will proceed to the Sports Arbitral Tribunal (TAD) and, if necessary, take our case to UEFA.”

In another twist to the story, the President of Division C top team Praiense (Azores), Marco Monteiro, has been charged by the FPF Disciplinary Council for remarks he has reported to have made on Sport TV, saying: “The Federation should have taken a moment to think before making certain decisions in such a ridiculous and underhand way that I have no words to describe my anger.”

Expat fan Brain Caldwell from Faz Fato, Tavira, joins the demonstration
Olhanense motorcycle outriders with the team coach
Olhanense fans gather before touring the town
Olhanense SAD President Luis Torres (white shirt, centre) with fans

Olhanense players feature in Team of the Year
The Campeonato de Portugal Division D ‘Team of the Year’ featured four Olhanense players – young wing-back Leonardo Lelo, midfield general and captain Leleco, plus prolific scorers Sapara and João Vasco. The seven-man bench included Hassan (Olhanense), Erico Castro (Louletano) plus Ivan Cruz and Dwann (Esp. Lagos).
‘Team of the Year’ covering all four divisions features Leonardo Lelo and Sapara with Leleco on the subs bench. Fifteen-goal Sapara took the coveted ‘Player of the Year’ award.