John Stilwell Trophy

More than 80 players took part in the first John Stilwell Trophy at Le Meridien Penina Sir Henry Cotton Championship Course on April 11.

The stableford competition was played over 18 holes at the course with eventual winner of the trophy being Manuel Gomes Mota with 41 points, Guiseppe Ghezzo also finished with 41 points but came second due to his performance on the back nine, while John Russell took third place with 40 points.

Margarida Sampaio and Nuno Rebelo won the awards for longest drive while Annie Kenyon and Joaquim Oliveira came in first in the nearest the pin competition.

The next John Stilwell Trophy is planned for 2010 with an exact date yet to be announced.