International stars triumph at Portugal Masters
2021 winner, Thomas Pieters from Belgium Photo: GETTY IMAGES

International stars triumph at Portugal Masters

World class golfers in search of victory

Since Englishman Steve Webster’s victory in the 2007 inaugural edition, the Portugal Masters has been won by golfers from eight different countries.

While Webster’s triumph set the pattern for an event dominated by English golfers – with seven victories, including the triumphs of two-time winner Tom Lewis in 2011 and 2018 – an impressive array of international talent has also triumphed at Vilamoura. Players from Belgium, South Africa, Denmark, the Republic of Ireland, France, Australia, and Spain have all graced the winner’s podium.

The Portugal Masters has a reputation for both fantastic golf and high drama. Tom Lewis has the unique distinction of featuring twice on the trophy, but the quest for back-to-back triumphs continues.

Padraig Harrington, 2016 winner (Photo: GETTY IMAGES)

England’s Andy Sullivan came closest to consecutive victories, following his 2015 triumph. In 2016, Sullivan almost replicated his 23-under par victory, and was in great shape to successfully defend his title as he reached the closing holes. However, a return of 22-under par was just one shot behind Ireland’s Padraig Harrington who carded a winning score of 23-under par.

Harrington and Sullivan had served up a feast of quality golf and, having birdied the 17th, a par on the last secured victory for the Irishman. Harrington’s second shot landed just off the green, and following an exquisite chip, he duly converted the putt for victory, with Sullivan just one behind in 2nd place.

Tom Lewis, winner of Portugal Masters 2018, here pictured with Filipe Silva from Turismo de Portugal (Photo: WARREN LITTLE/GETTY IMAGES)

The 2022 Portugal Masters again holds the delicious promise of even more drama, and the possibility of record-breaking achievements. Therefore, as we look forward to this latest edition, it is fitting to highlight the list of illustrious past winners:

2007 Steve Webster (England), 2008 Álvaro Quirós (Spain), 2009 Lee Westwood (England), 2010 Richard Green (Australia), 2011 Tom Lewis (England), 2012 Shane Lowry (Republic of Ireland), 2013 David Lynn (*), 2014 Alexander Levy (France), 2015 Andy Sullivan (England), 2016 Padraig Harrington (Republic of Ireland), 2017 Lucas Mjerregaard (Denmark), 2018 Tom Lewis (England), 2019 Steven Brown (*England), 2020 George Coetzee (South Africa), 2021 Thomas Pieters (Belgium), 2022-?


Tom Callan is editor of Clubhouse Algarve magazine (