Guadiana victory

Newcastle United drew with Olympiacos before goals from Demba Ba and Ryan Taylor secured victory over Sporting Braga at the Stadium of the Algarve to ensure that this year’s Guadiana trophy was won by an English club.

Prior to the start of the prestigious tournament, Olympiacos had beaten Faro 3-0 while the Albufeira meeting between Sheffield Wednesday and Reading resulted in a 2-0 win for the Championship side.