Volkswagen Tiguan Experience 9.jpg

European Amateur Team Championship returns to the Algarve

It has been 38 years since golf’s European Amateur Team Championship (EATC) took place at Penina in 1973, but now it has returned with some of the best amateurs from across Europe taking part in the event at the Oceânico Victoria Golf Course in Vilamoura until July 9.

Golfers such as Padraig Harrington, Justin Rose, Alvaro Quirós, Sergio Garcia and Rory McIlroy have all taken part in previous editions of the championship, which showcases emerging talent in the golf world from around Europe in this championship that is considered to be the number one team event in Europe.

Twenty teams from across Europe will be fighting to be crowned as champions, including teams from England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, Portugal, Germany, Spain and Russia.

Colin Edwards will be captaining the England team, Kevin Flanagan the Ireland team, José Maria Cazal-Ribeiro the Portugal team and Scott Knowles will be leading the Scotland team.

The team to beat this year will be the title holders England, who won the championship in 2010 at Österåkers in Sweden.

The final day of match play, prize presentation and closing ceremony will all taking place tomorrow (Saturday).

Manuel Agrellos, the president of the Portuguese Golf Federation (PGF), said: “Having had the privilege to attend many European Golf Association championships it is a great honour to host the most important of them all in Portugal.”

He added: “European Team Championships represent the leading exponent of amateur golf and for many participants it is just a step away from the professional tours around the world.”

President of the European Golf Association, Gonzaga Escauriaza, said: “This championship bears a very special importance to all competing teams; the best amateurs from our member countries will be representing their respective nations.  I am certain that all will be inspired to perform at their best and that we will see golf of the highest standard.”

Entry to the event for spectators is free.

For further information, please call 289 310 333