Bush supports African economies

THE WHITE House has announced that five Portuguese-speaking countries will continue to benefit from access to American markets under the Law of Growth and Opportunity in Africa. On complying with certain economic and political requirements, the African countries concerned – Angola, Cape Verde, Guinea Bissau, Mozambique and São Tomé e Príncipe – will be able to export certain products without having to pay tariffs. The law is aimed at stimulating African economies and encouraging trade and investment in these countries.