Beselin and Goddard win Golfing Society events

news: Beselin and Goddard win Golfing Society events

AXEL BESELIN won the first running of the Royal British Club Cup on October 26 and Ron Goddard held on to the Portucale Stone on November 2, in an active week of Royal British Club Golfing Society (RBCGS) competition. Beselin also won the Silver Jubilee Plate for the best combined score of the two events.

The RBC Cup play had been postponed due to heavier rain earlier in October, and happily both Wednesdays were clear.Only three points separated the first six places in the RBC Cup.Beselin’s better scores on the back nine left Jimmy Gray, who had tied him with an excellent 36 points, in second place.Third was taken by António Vieira’s 35 points, fourth by Brian Hughes, who’s better back nine left Miranda Thomas in fifth.David Gray took sixth. Henk Vaandrager won the Cowbell, paying the price of too nice a trip out-of-town.

The Newstead Prize, for players with handicaps of 19 or higher, was won by Brenda Leitão, and Peter Costeloe took first in another first running of the day, the “Top Ten” competition, set for those members who may not be inclined, or find it wise, to play a full 18 holes. Denys Stormont’s shot was closest to the pin on the second hole, Graciete Gibbon was closest to the pin in two on the fourth. Richard Evans won the Captain’s Prize for better play on four selected holes.

The Portucale Stone, sponsored by the owners of the Ribagolfe complex at Infantado in the Ribatejo, was played on Ribagolfe II. Once again, a countback was required to separate Goddard, the winner, and John Brandon in second, both having amassed 34 points. Eddie Leitão and Beselin took third and fourth respectively, both with 32 points.Vitor Campos, Administrador Delegado of Portucale, and Fernando Duarte took fifth and sixth with 31 points. Campos also won the Newstead Cup.

The “accuracy” prizes, nearest to the pin, were won by Goddard and Carole Brandon. Brenda Leitão won the Gordon Young award (a lesson) and the Cowbell for lowest score! The Captain’s Prize went to Henk Itzig Heine.

The annual Silver Jubilee prizes, combining two days of play, were selected from the aggregate of the Stableford points collected for each event. John Brandon followed Beselin in second place, with Jimmy Gray third, António Vieira fourth and Fernando Duarte fifth.

• The RBCGS season will close on December 7 with the President’s Baffy and a dinner.