Australian Open

The first tennis Grand Slam tournament of the New Year will begin in Melbourne on Monday.

Defending champion and world No1 Novak Djokovic is the top seed, followed by Roger Federer and Andrew Murray in the injury-related absence of 2012 finalist Rafael Nadal. Ladies title holder Victoria Azarenka should be closely challenged by the likes of Maria Sharapova and Serena Williams, while the full extent of Portuguese participation will only be known following the qualifying rounds and today’s (Friday) subsequent draw.